Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello All,

I am a soon to be newbie rider. I live in California. I do not currently have a motorcycle but would like to get a cruiser. I am 6'5" 260lbs. I want to get a cruiser for under 3000 if possible that way I can gain some experience and than get the bike I really want which is a Harley Davidson road glide.

Any thoughts on a cruiser I should get now, i'm looking to buy one in the next few months. I was leaning towards a Yamaha V-star or a Kawasaki. I have sat on the Yamaha V-star and feel pretty good about it but would probably have to change the shocks for my weight and maybe the bars and foot board.

I plan on getting my permit next week and look into a msf course. I was going to take the Harley Davidson course because I heard they start you off on something a little bigger than a 2?50 and I am concerned about me being to cramp on a 250 and than I can't even learn correctly because I am to uncomfortable to focus. Only think about the Harley course is that it is like a hundred dollars more than any other course I have seen. is it worth it?

·
Member Map
23,909 Posts
You'll likely get a tour of the dealership with the Harley class. Here they use the same class material as the state, but a waiver is only granted with the state-run courses. California works differently than Illinois, so I'm not sure what the case is there.

I would recommend asking about DMV waivers before committing. It's a lot less hassle not having to test twice if possible.

I don't know what motorcycles are used in courses there, but we have some dual-sport bikes that better fit tall riders in our courses. I'm thinking that something similar can be found in California. The Harley courses are switching over the the Street models from their previous Buell Blast.

·
Female Rider
9,311 Posts