Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
What's up everyone! I'm Brad from PalmCoast Florida, just got my first bike a 1983 Suzuki GS1100g. Picked it up for 400 dollars.
Since I'm new to the bike scene I dont really know a lot about bikes. I got a bike because it looks like fun.
My bike isn't running just yet, the dude I bought it from said he had it running three weeks ago after he jumped it off.
I'm a little nervous jumping it off, I dont think using a car battery will be a good idea for it.
I'm not sure what other issues I'll have with the bike I just got it into my garage

Nonetheless I got cool project under my belt and cant wait to start riding!

·
Registered
296 Posts
Welcome, and thanks for the good introduction. My first bike was a '78 Suzuki GS550. Smaller, but basically the same design as yours except yours has shaft drive vs. the chain that was on mine. Easy to work on and very reliable.

You can use a car battery to jump start your bike, but be sure the car is not running. The car battery by itself has more than enough oomph to start your bike. You can take the battery to pretty much any auto parts store and they'll test it for you.

A repair manual of some kind will be of great help to you. Clymer and Haynes are two publishers of repair manuals for bikes (and cars). Your local public library might have one you can borrow. Whenever I get a bike I just go ahead and buy the Clymer manual for it because I know I'm going to need it.