Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This might be stupidly obvious to experienced people on here but I'm a little new to motorcylcing and I noticed recently that there's a lot more heat on my left leg than the right. Is that from the chain? Does my R3 just blow more heat from the radiator past the left side?

I just cleaned and lubricated the chain so I would think it'd be in good shape now. Part of why I'm just now noticing it might be because I've always worn pants and usually with over pants over those, but I've been taking it out with just shorts and overpants lately so I feel the heat more. Also it's been hotter out. Anyways, I figured it's probably a total normal thing but I just got a little concerned that there might be something wrong with it.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
Fuel injected motorcycle?
How hot is the fuel tank, particularly when the fuel level is low?

... keep more fuel in it, that's the only cooling for the fuel pump,
tank will be hottest where the fuel return discharge from the motor goes back into the fuel tank.

·
Registered
1,033 Posts
BMW K100RS was one of the first ever fuel injection bikes, they put a Huge pump inside the tank, that and fuel constantly flowing through the fuel rail right over the cylinders and in contact with the injectors. Fuel in the tank can get hot enough to boil real easy.
It is hottest on the right side of that tank ymmv.
Look inside the fuel tank when it is hot and still running, you might see turbulence in there on that side of the tank.

·
Ace Tuner
2,986 Posts
Does my R3 just blow more heat from the radiator past the left side?
Probably. ^

Never seen a drive chain get hot enough so that you could feel the heat from it while in the wind. (Or even standing next to it).

S F

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Fuel injected motorcycle?
How hot is the fuel tank, particularly when the fuel level is low?