Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
HD I'm back...
I've been a life long motorcycle rider, I got my first Harley back in '94- a beat to sh*t sportster I ran into the ground. I graduated to a new road king in 97, that bike was the love of my life. I stripped it down to a fat looking FLH. In the late summer of 2006 I let a friend borrow it for the afternoon-that's where my love with Harley went wrong.

My buddy totaled the bike, he was fine. I wanted to murder him...but it was my fault for letting him ride it. I took the insurance $ and bought a new 06 roadking. I thought that there had to be improvements as it was new- the sales guy told me it was better than my old EVO.. That twin cam 88 5 speed was a slug, I put 3 grand more into that bike to make it quicker, better sounding, etc. with no luck! I yearned for the performance and feel of my old EVO.

In 2011 I sold it and went to BMW. I loved the performance and euro style but yearned for the soul of HD. I continued to go bigger and more $$ in the BMW line, continued to hang out with my HD friends, still went to sturgis, took the ribbing and snide comments in stride. I would always have the come back of "Harley Davidson- yesterday's technology at tomorrow's prices"

Fast forward to a month ago, I went on a mountain ride with a bunch of friends-mostly HD guys. My buddy had just got a new 14 electraglide classic, 103 motor, gorgeous bike. I was on my BMW RT - a quick powerful sport touring bike, I had a smirk on my face-I will still leave these guys in the dust on mountain curves and straight a ways I thought. I was wrong- the new electraglide kept up, and even passed me here and there. I asked him if I could ride it- hell no - get your own bike he said...