Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, this starts yesterday, upon spraying a bit too much WD40 on my kickstand. Not really noticing, I go about my business, and today come to a bride in my town, which goes up to allow large boats under. Stuck at the barrier, I put my stand down and talk to a friend also waiting. Barrier goes up, I forget about my kickstand, and due to the WD40 dousing, the sensor doesn't shut off the engine (I assume so anyway, I have no other explanation). Hundreds of people, and I hit the side stand on a manhole cover, and after a bit of a struggle, down I go! I'm fine and the bike only has a scratch, but my pride is demolished. I've been riding for 3 years as an all year rider and this is my second drop. As you can imagine, my pride is in tatters, and the whole thing just keeps replaying in my head.:mad:
Moral of the story, technology is no match for even a split second of poor concentration!

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
So, this starts yesterday, upon spraying a bit too much WD40 on my kickstand. Not really noticing, I go about my business, and today come to a bride in my town, which goes up to allow large boats under. Stuck at the barrier, I put my stand down and talk to a friend also waiting. Barrier goes up, I forget about my kickstand, and due to the WD40 dousing, the sensor doesn't shut off the engine (I assume so anyway, I have no other explanation). Hundreds of people, and I hit the side stand on a manhole cover, and after a bit of a struggle, down I go! I'm fine and the bike only has a scratch, but my pride is demolished. I've been riding for 3 years as an all year rider and this is my second drop. As you can imagine, my pride is in tatters, and the whole thing just keeps replaying in my head.:mad:
Moral of the story, technology is no match for even a split second of poor concentration!