Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I recently bought my first bike (A 1980 Suzuki GS550L) and have been enjoying figuring it out, but something that worries me is, after a few minutes of riding, the idle jumps from a regular ~600 to a worrying ~2250.
Anyone have suggestions on what to check or do? I'm pretty handy with a wrench, but the bike didn't come with a manual or anything, and I've never worked on a bike before.

·
Greatest Member Ever
662 Posts
It's a pretty recent thing. been doing it for about a week.
I would start by checking for a vacuum leak. The rubber hoses on old bikes can develop cracks that become bigger as the engine heats up. Ride the bike until the problem occurs, then return to your home and spray the intake boots/vacuum lines with carb cleaner or wd-40 and see if the idle changes. If it does, the area that you sprayed is the culprit. Also check for cracks in the rubber boots that are between the carbs and airbox.

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hey, just tried the wd-40 thing. Sprayed it on all four carb boots. All I accomplished with it is now my carb boots are covered in wd-40. Idle didn't change any. Maybe the carbs are dirty?

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
No, what you accomplished was possibly ruling out one source of your problem. Personally I like to use carb cleaner for the task - seems to work better for me.

Vacuum leak would be at the top of my list, too, though it could be a lot of things. How old and beat are the carbs? Vacuum leaks can sometimes come from sloppy butterfly shafts in the carb itself. Dirty or poorly tuned/synced carbs can also do what you've described.

·
Ghost in the machine
2,857 Posts
I know this seems like a dumb question but it would be the simplest solution. you are not leaving the choke on are you?