Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello all,
I have looked through the forums and have come across no threads on the GoPro Hero 3. I have done my basic research as to looking online under the comparison chart of the white, silver and black editions, but understanding everything that is being said is a foreign language to me. Also, I have asked salesmen. It's always the same thing for a commissioned employee, and it's to get the $350 black edition.
Now I'm here to my trusted forum friends and willing to take all your opinions. Please pass on your experiences, or things that you have heard. Keep in mind I am not a professional racer, just someone who enjoys the ride and wants to share my riding experience with others with a decent camera, not blurry and not breaking the bank. Also, keep in mind that I live in Washington State. Rain is a close relative here (in the event anyone suggests a different brand).
I am looking forward to your suggestions and questions if any.

·
Severed Head
464 Posts
Not a GoPro fan. Just about every vlogger on YouTube has abandoned the hardware. Vloggers may not be your thing, but these guys do use their equipment several days a week. I tend to trust the opinions of the people that have lots of time hands on.

GoPro wins on video quality. Comes up short everywhere else.

Fot my money, I'd grab one of the Drift cams. Ghost HD prefereably. Much more user friendly with a better profile than the GoBrick. The GoPro has a plethora of mounts available that the others lack, but that's generally because the other cams don't "need" them. The ability to compensate for weird off-angle shots is built into the hardware. Also, GoPro seems to be following apple's lead in requiring GP specific accessories. No thanks. Look around at other options. Search youtube for camera reviews. AccidentalBroadcast & TheGardenSnake have some interesting things to say about the Hero3...

·
Registered
160 Posts