Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

trying to start a restoration project here in Washington, USA. whata re some of the good forums/message boards where I can get expert advice on old pre-1980 motorcycles, like the yamaha, honda and the british ones.

TIA.
A

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
15,671 Posts
There are some excellent restorers on this board.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank you all for the responses. I accidentally bumped upon ths forum, I wasnt sure if this is where most knowledgable folks hang out or there are other places. I have my eyes on a Yamaha 500, non running condition. i couldn't find nay model specific forums. I am on a tight budget for this, and that is because, I am new to restorations, and want to dip my toe into it, and learn a bit about engine maintenence, so starting with expensiv antique bikes is not a good way to do that.

·
American Legion Rider
26,421 Posts
I'd certainly suggest to post any questions specific to your project here and let the good folks here guide or at least try to help you. And start a restore thread showing your results as you go. There are many restore projects here so have a look at others to get an idea of what's in store.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I'd certainly suggest to post any questions specific to your project here and let the good folks here guide or at least try to help you. And start a restore thread showing your results as you go. There are many restore projects here so have a look at others to get an idea of what's in store.
I havent started yet. Before I buy a bike for it, I wanted to know which ones are easy to find parts for. Example, I know that there is a huge fan following for vw bugs in usa, and it is easy to get parts for it, but I dont know the corresponding makes and models for motor cycles.

·
American Legion Rider
26,421 Posts