Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
101 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my beautiful '83 Maxim, all stock except for the obvious accessories you see (top kit, saddlebags, windshield and grips). I'm not interested in chopping it like most people do with these bikes, but what I'd really love to do is black it out… bars, signals, engine, exhaust, headers.. everything. However, I have zero experience with automotive painting and limited mechanical experience. I really don't want the finished product to look like a cheap back yard "hack job", but I don't think I can afford to have it professionally done, although to be honest, I haven't got a clue what that would cost.

Anyway… what's your advice/recommendations for doing this? Tank and fenders can stay gloss, but I think I'd like everything else matte. My mufflers are also a bit rotten and I think I'd like to go with a new 2-into-1 system, it looks like the Mac system can come with black headers so I may not have to worry about that tiny bit.

Attachments

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
You could have a lot of the parts powder coated. Things like the fork tubes and exhaust pipes will have to stay as they are. The biggest trouble with that is anything you change will have to be removed first.

The cheapest option would be spray paint. There would still be some disassembly to have it look decent, but not as much as powder coat.

·
Shaper Of All Things Metal
2,799 Posts
That is a good looking bike! :thumbsup:

I'd go with black pipes and muffler and leave the rest as is, but that's me. It's your bike and it oughta be the way you want it. :icon_cool:

Spray paint is actually pretty easy but if you haven't done it, you'll need to practice first, preferably on odd shapes so it's similar to the bike parts you'll be painting.

·
Registered
804 Posts
Google Yamaha Midnight Special to get an idea what your bike would look like with lots of black.