Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 60 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let's pretend you're back on your first bike, riding around for the hell of it. Because it's fun. Simply because you are licensed to ride.

What's something you learned that you wish you knew the first few years of riding?

**The purpose of this thread is entirely selfish. I would like as much advice crammed into my noggin as possible. Thanks.

OBAnimal

·
American Legion Rider
18,530 Posts
What do you mean, licensed to ride. You are already way ahead of some of us. So yeah, my first advice would be take a riding course and get licensed. How'd you get so far ahead?:D

·
Shaper Of All Things Metal
2,802 Posts
When I started riding a special motorcycle endorsement wasn't needed and helmets weren't required. We just jumped on and rode and had fun. We learned by doing.

But as to your question of what we learned... I wished I would've kept my first motorcycle.

·
Aging & Worn
4,517 Posts
In other words, what advice would I give myself, if I could go back in time; back to when I first started riding.............

I'd tell myself: buy and install a windshield, a crash bar,foot pads, and highway pegs; and get a pair of prescription goggles.

I'd tell myself: When you are told by a pretty lady that she 'likes a man on a motorcycle,' ........ignore her!! She's trouble!!

-Soupy

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Wow, a good range of advice here! Sentimental, personal, and practical! Loving it.

What do you mean, licensed to ride. You are already way ahead of some of us. So yeah, my first advice would be take a riding course and get licensed. How'd you get so far ahead?:D
Puaha, I just want some wisdom from the wise.

OBAnimal

·
Premium Member
6,523 Posts
Lessons learned.

A cop on a 500 cc OHV bike, will catch you going uphill on your 350 side valve.
Early knobby tyres do not go around corners, as well as a good set of Avon street tyres.