Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1,133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:)I know this sound funny, but when I was a young noob biker on a CT90 K6 honda trail bike, they made a law that said you had to get a lisence, this was first because I lived on an island, and second there were only 48 miles of road. They had never had licenses for bikes.

Now I have ridden all my life, and now after all this time, I go to the licenseing to get my beginners permit to learn to ride again.

When I get there, this woman tells me I have to take a special course, from a special organization, set up to do this testing, and that the cost of the course is going to be 165.(my bike doesn't go that fast)

She tells me as she fumbles the small booklet of rules, telling me about priviledges and things, that I will have to call the number given, and that they allow me to take a test and get a beginners permit to learn to ride again.

So I whip out the flip phone and dial the number.

Hello (names changed to reflect anonimity) this is Stevey.
me:Hi I need to get a beginners permit to learn to ride again.
We have courses available in both Vancouver and Olympia.
All I want is a permit to learn to ride again.
You have to take the course.
STEVEY: The course takes 3 days and costs 165, which is conducted in Lacey.
Me: well that is going to cost me 40 a day for gas to get there.
If you want a license you have to take the course.(pass I mean)
How about my written, is there a place I can take my written for the permit around here?
Yes on the 20th, at 6pm at the Yamaha shop.
OK sign me up,(now about this time a cop pulls up in the parking lot next door.)
STEVEY: Do you want to take care of this now?
I don't use credit cards.
well I can't do that.

well anyway he tells me that I can show up, with 40 and if there are openings, they will let me in.