Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Very Famous Person
9,829 Posts
--

Probably dripping from another point on the engine. There is no unburned gas passing through the interior of an exhaust manifold.

--

·
Very Famous Person
9,829 Posts
If I turn off the fuel flow switch it stops
--

It sounds to me (and I'm no master mechanic genius) like it's leaking from a hose or valve or fitting in your fuel supply line. Mine will squirt out of the carb overflow relief vent sometimes if my gas line is heated from a hot engine. I have it routed so it goes out to the side, but it could exit wherever the vent hose ended or around the carb if my hose was missing.

It's not likely that it's coming from inside the combustion chamber, so that leaves only an external leak. Let everything cool down, then turn on your fuel flow switch and feel around, and look, at all the area above where the gas is. If you have to start your engine, you will have a moment or two while you can still feel around before the engine gets too hot to touch.

--

·
ZAMM Fanatic
2,730 Posts
What year, make & model? If this is a carbureted bike you may have a sticking float. After engine shutdown fuel from the bowl or overflow can flow into the intake manifold, and may flow into combustion chamber and gravity will take it out, somewhere.

if fluid can leak out exhaust should be able too also, at least until the engine heats up at which point it may self-seal. Do you hear an exhaust leak on startup? Can you feel one?

You want to fix this before it turns into a Viking funeral...

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #8