Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 84 Posts

·
Aging & Worn
4,516 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have never "had" to flip my gas tank to "Reserve." I watch my Trip miles to gauge my gas needs, like many of you do as well. I try NOT to have any long "idling" sessions for the most part, knowing of course that THAT takes fuel as well, and I don't have an effective way to gauge "idle consumption" anyway.

That said, as I was standing in my garage this morning, knowing that I wouldn't be riding today (rain), the thought occurred to me: "I wonder if I was in a situation where I HAD to switch over to "Reserve," if I should do it "on the fly" or not? I would suppose that it would be "ok" to do so (on the fly) but since I hadn't been in that situation, I have no practical experience in the matter.

Seems to me, I would only find myself in a situation where I needed to "switch over," if I was NOT paying attention to my Trip Meter as I should have been, and suddenly found myself in a place where I had no source for fuel (either by having someone nearby with a gas can, or no gas stations in sight)..

With my bike, I typically am looking for gas stations or some source for gas, no later than 120 miles (as far as I have pushed the bike in the past).

So, there I am, (hypothetical situation) riding down a lonely stretch of road, seeing "120" on my Trip Meter, and I reach down and flip the fuel source knob quickly, from "Run" to "Reserve:"

What's going to happen:

-Am I going to get motor lurching, choking or coughing?

-What should I be doing at the time I switch over? Standing still?

-How much distance to my ride should I assume I have, now that I HAVE switched over?

-Because I'm now sucking fuel from (presumably) the bottom of the tank, am I introducing a sludge-like fuel (from being on the bottom of the tank) that will clog up my jets and give me trouble?