Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! I was looking for a forum to post this and this is the perfect subthread!

Basically I am new to bikes though I've always been interested. I dont own one and never road one but I think its time to buy one.
I was hoping I could get some tips on the how and where

I want to get something cheap and broken so that I could fix it up and basically make it my baby. As far as the mechanical stuff goes I dont think that would be too much of an issue I have fixed several cars and im soon going to get an old golf and replace the engine and transmission

I'm a huge fan of classic looking bikes, moto guzzi v7 classic, Royal Enfield 500 bullet, and the Triumph Bonneville. Does anyone else have any suggestions as to what to get similar?

I've basically noticed that you can either buy a bike new [expensive]
buy them old but they're all modified and look beautiful [expensive]
or buy something incredibly rusty.
Basically the rust issue is my biggest fear because I dont really have the means of fixing that and buying the parts would be expensive

thanks!

·
Registered
943 Posts
Before you lay down money for a classic bike in need of restoration make sure replacement parts are available. I find that you can get most parts for classic Hondas for decades but most models have a few parts that are rare/expensive.

You can expect to invest a LOT of time and a fair bit of money bringing a classic bike back to running and roadworthy condition. You will also have to develop an intimate knowledge of the bike you work on because you will probably end up rebuilding the engine, the electrical system, and many other aspects of the bike.

For less work and quicker-to-the-road you can compromise and pick up a 10 or 15 year old bike for a little more money that wont take you months to rebuild.

·
Registered
650 Posts
buying the parts would be expensive