Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Good day, Ladies and Gentlemen,

I'm about as green as a noob could be. I've always been afraid of riding motorcycles, most probably because of an accident I had in my youth. But, after 30 years of pondering the matter, I decided it wasn't really all that bad, and in truth, I just didn't fully understand how the clutch worked. That was a hard lesson :/ But, I think I'm OK now :)

I've decided that yes, riding motorcycles can be safe, fun, and rewarding - without all that paralyzing fear. For me, this is really all about breaking through my fear to the other side, and showing myself that I can do it. I'll be getting to do something that, deep down inside, I've wanted to do secretly but had always discounted the possibility of due to "the other driver not watching out," "two wheels aren't safe," and, "I'm a paramedic and have seen some terrible things." It's true. I have seen some terrible things. However, most, if not all those terrible accidents had a speed demon on the other end of it.

I'm just not after speed at the age of 45.

So, I'm looking for a cruiser. But, first, I will be taking the MSF Basic Course, as well as the Advanced Course, sometime in the future. For now, I just need a helmet by April 16th.

So, I'm looking for a full-face vented, tinted visor, DOT/Snell rated helmet, and something that will fit my 23 1/2" head. I guess that's an XL. Other than the options I listed, are there others that would be good to look into?

For the cruiser, I've taken a look at a Yamaha V-Star 950 - but a friend of mine said 1100 would be better. I like the footboards and feel. I'm 6'2" and 205 lbs.