Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today, I took the initiative, and got up early to practice in a local school parking lot. Got some cones and took the Triumph Tiger 800 out to practice those low speed maneuvers.

I was doing an offset cone weave, probably about 12 feet distant with 4 foot offset. I was mostly taking the turns wide, almost doing large U turns to the sides. Mostly, I wanted to practice rapid changes in direction, counter weighting, and using my focal points to put the bike where I want.

For the most part I did really well, and can consistently pull a U turn in 24 feet. Sometimes I do better, but again, I'm still learning a relatively big bike, rather than my tiny little BMW G310R.

After doing wide turns, I decided to try and do a slow offset, getting as close as I could. Unfortunately, I made the elementary mistake of looking at a cone. Of course I hit it. I was at full lock left and leaning, and ended up losing focus and stalled the bike. While I did counterweight, I still can't beat gravity.

I realized what was happening, so I ended up jumping away. Bike hit the pavement. Luckily, I still had my Pelican side cases attached. Mostly because I was lazy and didn't bother taking them off.

I had never dropped one before, and had therefore never picked one up, but I read about the technique and watched videos. So I did it as I thought I was supposed to, and it actually was way easier than I thought.

No damage to the bike, just a minor scratches on my side case, and a barely perceptible scratch to the left handguard.

Lessons learned.

1. Friction zone is the most important. If you stall, or touch the front brake while in a low speed turn at full lock, you're going down. Keep that throttle set and the clutch where it needs to be.

2. Focal points. Don't look at the cones, look where you want to go.