Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for a little over 2 months now, and have put on over 2100 miles. Getting to the point where I'm quite comfortable - I believe I've started to develop that sixth sense about traffic, and I'm far more confident. I always focus on proper technique - instinct is good, but I never let my instinct or gut take completely over, and I always try to stay locked on and deliberate. My starts from a stop are better - I haven't stalled in a long time, haven't found myself in neutral by accident, and am overall a lot smoother than when I started. I've been working a lot on my low speed maneuvers too, and can consistently make a U-turn in under 24 feet (the standard width of a 2 lane roadway in the US) and handle parking lots with confidence.

I've taken some longer single day rides, but starting Sunday, I'm taking my first extended, multi day ride. I'll be heading from my home in the Denver area south to Colorado Springs (taking the scenic route, of course) and overnight with a friend, probably catch a movie and dinner. The next day I'm hitting up Pikes Peak and Garden of the Gods, then continuing west through Eleven Mile State Park, and going north to Frisco (ski country, though it's not quite the season yet). Another overnight, then I'm heading north to Laramie, having lunch, and cutting back south to meet up with another friend for dinner and then back home.

3 days, 2 nights, roughly 600 miles with frequent stops to enjoy the sights. Weather should be fair, and I've got a route planned with periodic stops for checking in with my loved ones. Hoping my Barkbusters handguards arrive before this weekend so I can install them - it can get chilly on the hands in some areas, even in August!