Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello I'm 19 around 5'6 and weight about 130. I'm a really big fan of the yamaha R series ever since I was a child. Once I heard that yamaha was releasing a 300cc R class bike I was excitited. Until I watched some reviews on 250cc and 300cc motorcycles. They all say "this bike will bore you" I don't wanna invest $4999 on a bike that I'm gonna get bored with in 3 months. So I was snooping around craigslist and found a used 2007 yamaha r6 for only $1900. Keep in mind this is my first time ever riding a motorcycle and I never used a clutch in my life. I have a job but what one should I get? I want to be safe and really don't feel the need to speed just want something to toy around on on the weekend. I probably will never go past a 600cc bike in the future due to the fact you don't really need that IMO. But feel free to help me out guys and girls.

·
Registered
4,169 Posts
Welcome to the forum. As far as getting bored with the bike, if you want to run in a straight line, yes a small bike can become boring. On the other hand, if you want to really learn to ride on anything beyond a straight line check this guy out. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GKDN3okg4ko
I ride a 1731cc touring type bike but would love to have a small 250cc bike for around town use.

·
ZAMM Fanatic
2,732 Posts
Since you posted basically the SAME question in 2 different places, I'll just cut and paste my SAME answer:

This question gets asked here about once a week.

No, a 250 or 300 bike is not "too small" for you and no you will not "outgrow" it in a couple of months.

40 years ago a 175 was considered a "big bike' and a 500 a monster.

As someone who rides a 1400cc sport/touring bike, I've considered moving back DOWN to a 250cc to improve my riding skills.

If you spent every weekend at the track and took innumerable riding classes, indeed, in six months your SKILL level might be where you'd want a 600cc bike.