Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
195 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey guys. This the first step for my outfit, so please give me some pointers because I have no idea what's going on as a total newb, save that I am srs about ATGATT. I want a very 'low-key' outfit that will look in place either riding a sportsbike or a cruiser, so no power ranger/flashy/colorful outfits lol. I'm thinking black unless you guys think it really gets hot vs other colors. If there are some minor color or patterns, that's fine. Above all else, they must be safe and approved by the most organizations as possible.

For the helmet, it should ideally be both DOT and SNELL approved. I also prefer full-faced and non-modular helmets. However, I understand that modulars don't have SNELL approval? I also want a built-in sunshield as I think that it's safer than wearing my standalone sunglasses and of course more convenient to put on/off w/ just the flip of a switch...so based on the below brand/helmet I'm looking at right now (going for USD200), they must be modular...not sure if you guys have comments for modular vs reg...I personally don't see myself using that modular ftn much and I assume that they must be bulkier vs an otherwise same helmet...but alas for HJC, the sunshield only is available for their modular helmets. I prefer black color in keeping w/ my 'low-key' look and it must have a clear visor.

Not sure if this is a good choice or if you can think of better ones out there. If you have any comments on my above content or anything that might be useful, please let me know. TIA!

http://hjchelmets.com/hjca/ismax2_ismax2solid

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
14,301 Posts
The most most important thing in a helmet is fit over everything else.

Do you really want to dress in black? Bright hi-vis colors might be a better deal

·
The 43rd Poser
440 Posts
Any helmet that is modular, or that has a built in sun shield will NOT be SNELL approved.