Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Today I rode my CBR600RR to Orange Road to give the bike it's first ride on winding roads. I had fun, started to hate the bike, then had fun again and started to love the bike, then had running problems and started hating again....as of today, I still love the bike, but am having 2nd thoughts...

·
Registered
1,282 Posts
Looks like a great road to get comfortable with the bike! Give yourself (and the bike) a bit of time. Looks like you did a great job of riding your own ride after meeting up with those guys and not pushing too hard to try to keep up. Well done! If your still not comfortable after 500 - 1000 miles (or kilo equivalent) then, yeah, might stick with the nakeds...

When I started riding a few years back (at age 49), I considered myself in decent shape but had spent decades lifting heavy weight without much aerobic/endurance training. I found out real quick that my core strength and flexibility were severely lacking! Sticking with the sport bike (Ninja 300 and F4i) has probably been the best thing for me because it motivated me to lose about 20 lbs and work on increasing my endurance and flexibility. Staying comfortable on the bike is pretty easy now as long as I take a break every hour or so...

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
What I found on that ride is that my wrists ached after about an hour. No problems with my back or anything, but when trying to get my head around moving my butt off the seat and sticking my head out, it just didn't work. I have adjustable rear sets which has helped with my legs, but my upper body just feels weird. For the time being I ordered some 1" rise clip-ons and a taller screen to see if that helps.

I don't want to give up on the bike, but I'm thinking I should have bought an MT09 instead....

·
Registered
3,649 Posts