Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey y’all. So I grew up riding dirt bikes and four wheelers, biggest I ever rode was a Honda CRF450 back in the day. I messed around with a MT-07 we just got in at the shop I work at and had a blast. Wanted to see what other people who’ve owned one thought of the MT-07. I’m also open to getting a super sport as a first bike, thinking mid weight so maybe a CBR600RR, ZX-6R, GSX-R600-750, or an R6. Wanted to get other opinions and see what other people did for first bike on the road.

·
American Legion Rider
22,491 Posts
WELCOME ON BOARD, and...

We are friendly site here. Well, most of us😁

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
13,461 Posts
Welcome to the forum

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
Welcome! While your previous experience puts you higher on the scale than a complete newb, I'd strongly encourage starting on the MT-07 over a a 600cc+ sport bike.

My first year (and 6,000 miles) were spent on a Ninja 300 and I probably should've spent at least one more year on it before moving up. Learning correct body position, threshold braking, low speed maneuvers, etc. are just so much easier on a lighter bike that isn't constantly tempting you to twist the throttle.

Have you considered the Ninja 650 or 400?

Reactions: Crawsack

·
Registered
30 Posts
Hi there,

Welcome! Glad you're reaching out to ask advice. One thing I'd advise to start with is don't use displacement as the sole deciding factor on the power and skill level of a bike. There are a couple pretty distinct classes of motorcycle which all handle quite a bit differently and have different personalities: