Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The first available MRC that I can take is in April so I have some time to figure this out. My original plan was to take the course and then pick up a V-star 250 to start with. After a year I was planning on getting the Suzuki S-40 cuz I really like it. I have recently sat on the 250 and it is too small. It will probably be just right for the class but not for riding. Would the S-40 be too much bike for a complete beginner that has never ridden a bike? I am 5'10 and 205 pounds.

·
Member Map
23,909 Posts
They are pretty light and small-framed as far as motorcycles go. The S-40 is about 380 pounds full of fuel and oil.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
oh ok. That's good to know. I have looked at a lot of bikes online and in the showroom but never really thought about asking about the actual weight. The S-40 has enough power for the highway as well? I'm not looking to go cross country but 55-60 hwy speed...once I learn how to stop from faster speeds that is.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
It handles highways speeds fairly well for a bike it's size. I've rode most of the day on it at times, with a few butt breaks, but I don't know how it would be for long haul, as I haven't been out of state with it yet.

The first time on my 96 Savage, which is basically the same as the S-40 with a name change, I was intimidated by the size a bit. But after figuring out how to get her rolling and stopped, it seemed to be the perfect size/weight/height for a beginner.

The only disadvantage I have found with the bike is the small gas tank and no fuel gauge. I just fuel up every 100 miles so I don't forget. Towards the end of my first season on it, I was wishing it had highway pegs, cause I kept wanting to stretch my legs out on the long rides. (not in city traffic). But I plan on putting the engine quard/highway bar on, and I will chose one that has the pegs if I can find it.