Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I searched and was unable to find posts for this question..

I'm a noob looking to start riding. It would be my primary transportation, so reliability is important, and I will probably ride about 10,000 miles a year. This would include 4 hour, 220 mile trips via freeway once every other month, but mostly short commutes and weekend rides..

I'm about 6 foot 1, 180 pounds, and am more into cafe racer style bikes than anything else.

so my question is, what do you all think of the TU250x, the Rebel, Bonneville, V star 250, any other recommendations?

I'm leaning most towards the TU250 for the price factor and overall value from what I know of it. I realize the Rebel is a bit small, but again, reliability is my biggest concern.

Thanks for any feedback guys, and sorry again if this has been asked before.

·
Registered
518 Posts
The Triumph Bonneville T100 would be my choice. Full size bike with a comfortable riding position and good power.

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
The VStar 250, the TU250 and the Rebel 250 will all do great for commuting around town. They get excellent gas mileage, are easy to learn on, and are very maneuverable.

They are not designed for long-distance travelling at interstate speeds, though. They can handle short hops on the highway without much trouble, but 4-hour rides on the highway wouldn't be ideal. These motorcycles will top out at around 75 miles per hour.

The Bonneville can handle the interstate without a problem at all.

There is likely to be a large gap in price between the 250 models and the Bonneville when comparing similar-year models.

·
Registered
183 Posts