Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently purchased a 1983 GS750ES, cosmetically it needs some fresh paint a new speed/tach cluster, and new turn signals, cleaning up some light rust on the inside of the tank. I plan on replacing the stock dash with a koso db-01R, buying some generic turn signals and cleaning out the inside the tank with the kbs tank sealing kit. I am a bit confused if I will need to buy the plus kit to strip an old liner or not, if yall could take a look at these photos of the inside my tank and let me know if I'm going to need to strip an old liner or just remove rust and re-seal? I'm new to motorcycles, but I'm a mechanically inclined person and excited to learn! Excuse any typos I'm on my phone at work, thank you for any responses!

http://rs249.pbsrc.com/albums/gg217/z-smoke/Mobile Uploads/20150614_185428.jpg~320x480

http://rs249.pbsrc.com/albums/gg217/z-smoke/Mobile Uploads/20150614_185402.jpg~320x480

http://rs249.pbsrc.com/albums/gg217/z-smoke/GS750ES project/20150608_185636.jpg~320x480

·
Registered
6 Posts
I recently resealed my tank. Looks like you would be better off using electrolysis to clean your tank, or just buy a new tank and save yourself a month of work.

1. I plugged the petcock hole with Styrofoam: you can also use cork--Styrofoam will leak a little, but is easy and cheap to keep applying as you cycle through the cleaning process
2. I used Apple vinegar to soak my tank--emptied the vinegar into a bucket with an old T-shirt over it as a filter.
3. Day 3 or 4 use new apple vinegar.
~~~~on a dry--none humid day--~~~(humid weather will make your tank start to rust back up in about 1 min depending on the humidity)
4. When tank is free of rust: Use 90% rubbing alcohol and shake tank: remember to cover all holes. Poor and repeat with new 90% rubbing alcohol until it comes out clean: remember to use new container for alcohol discharge.