Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

· Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, its Tyler. I'm looking for my first bike. I've got a bit of experience riding 2- and 4-stroke dirtbikes, but I'm new to the world of road bikes:

About Me:

- 6-ft, 2in
- 170lbs
- Long and lean

Purpose:

I'm going to officer school for the Air Force in September and I don't know where exactly I'll be stationed. But where ever I end up, I'd like to be able to make mid-distance weekend road trips (maybe 300mi max). I travel light, so a lot of storage isn't necessary. Primarily, it will be used to get around the town where I'm at, but I don't want something terribly uncomfortable for distance rides.

Style:

I'm a big fan of the vintage bomber-style cruisers and standards.
I like black, and I like chrome. Somthing simple. Not a fan of colorful bikes or choppers with crazy tall handlebars.

Comfort:

Like I said, realistically this will be an around town bike. But as tall as I am, I don't want to feel cramped for distance rides. Stretching and filling up the tank every 100mi or would be fine.

Safety:

Not looking to race anyone. Preferably something big enough to get me out of a tight spot should a tractor-trailer decide to merge, and a small enough to lane split where legal.

Here's some bikes I've considered. These are all good-looking biked in my opinion:

- Yamaha Star Bolt R-spec
- HD Iron 883
- Suzuki Boulevard C50/M50
- Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster
- HD Dyna Wide Glide.

Please give me your personal opinions which you like best and why. And feel free to suggest others I should be looking at, considering the above points.

P.S. A little bit of a back seat would be nice in case I want to give a pretty lady a ride! ?

· Nightfly
4,737 Posts