Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 26 mile commute to work on mostly lightly traveled country roads; 6 miles of it is gravel. It's not at all a bad commute, but I've been thinking of ways to make it more interesting, one of which (much to the dismay of my mother) would be getting a motorcycle :)

I am completely new to motorcycles, though I have friends who ride. I have been toying with the idea of getting a smaller bike as I won't need to take it on the freeway (though freeway legal would be nice as a "just in case" measure). The only real requirements (other than things I'm overlooking!) are that it can handle both dirt and pavement, and can comfortably keep up with 60 MPH traffic (on paved roads of course).

I was wondering if anyone can point me in the right direction as far as what type of bike would be appropriate for this sort of riding?

Thanks!

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
14,296 Posts
6 miles of gravel? Depending of the road conditions and amount of gravel it could dictate what you ride.

It will also be the hardest part of your ride.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I'd plan on not taking the bike if wet/muddy conditions are anticipated.

I actually have two roads I can take (without going massively out of my way)

One is pretty bumpy with a little bit of loose gravel. That's the 6 mile one.

The other is better maintained and usually smooth, and 5 miles of dirt, but with a lot of loose gravel. A few minutes longer route (by car, anyway).

I can avoid dirt roads completely if I go way out of my way (adding about 15 minutes), but this would only be a backup plan in case of unexpected rain.

Without knowing bikes, I figured I'd probably be looking at something with some off road capabilities, not a pure road bike.

·
American Legion Rider
23,521 Posts