Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Looking at a first bike: I'm starting as a car enthusiast in the first place. I'm a Mechanical Engineering student so I'm not worried about maintenance or rebuilding anything. I have always loved riding bikes, and now that I have a car and rarely ride for the last year or so, I yearn to ride again.

Criteria: Cheap to buy (I'm thinking sub $4k USD, preferably sub 3), cheap to run, cheap to insure, but something with some poke (not sure about 250cc class). It'd be used to get from my apartment to school (college) 2-4 times a day (on a Formula SAE team so I'm often back and forth). Fuel injected for cold weather, but am not opposed to some older stuff if the price is right either. I love the way naked bikes look and weigh/appear to perform. Something light and tossable sounds like a dream!

My riding (bicycle) background: I feel this has some relevance. For the past 10 years (I'm 19) I've raced or taught BMX both in a park (not as much experience), Trail riding, or dirt track racing. Not regularly competitively (I'm not spending much money or getting sponsored, just practiced hours every day), just getting kids 8-16 started safely and correctly and letting them learn.

I've been looking at used Street Triples, FZ6, KTM Duke, or something in the 300-600cc range (40-80 hp maybe more). Is this too big? Or is it something I can learn my way into. I want a lightweight bike that's tractable and easy to progress with. I don't want a 400+ pound liter bike, and don't want to pay for insurance on it either.

If anyone has any ideas on engine size or what other bikes in that range that I could pick up used in a year or so for $3k or less let me know!

Thanks in advance.

·
Double Secret Probation
288 Posts