Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
To start I've just turned 18 and I'm about 5 foot 10 inches. I'm looking at a 1981 Yamaha 850 Special. I really like this bike the seller says it's in great condition and is only asking 895$ for it. I have a lot of interest in it how ever I have no riding experience at all. I've been talking about buying it with my mother and she's voiced concerns about how large it is and me not being able to control it stating that if it were to fall on me I'd never walk again. I believe this to be just my mom worrying as I feel that I would be quite capable of controlling it and keeping it from falling on me but I want to know for sure. So in short would I be capable of riding this bike?

· On The Road Again!
4,156 Posts
People have started out on large bikes before and done ok.
But it's a lot easier and safer to start on something smaller and lighter.
I wouldn't worry about it falling on you.
But having all that power get away from you?? That could be a real concern.

Where are you located, Joseph?

· Gone
20,523 Posts
I would recommend a single or twin cylinder to learn to ride safely on.

Without a working crystal ball and a clear view of the future, it's really hard to say how well it would work out. The odds are better choosing a more user-friendly motorcycle to start with and learning to ride proficiently in traffic before jumping on a larger motorcycle.

· Loves All Motorcycles
997 Posts
Like the others said, it would be much much easier to start off on a smaller bike. I've been riding for less than a month, myself. Of my stable of three (two working) bikes, my largest is a 500 single Buell Blast. I feel okay with the 500. I know my confidence often outpaces my skill/the law, so having a bike that can't get me into too much trouble seems like a good thing as I learn.