Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone, I maintain an older 1982 yamaha 550. Im an auto mechanic Iv'e worked on anything with an engine for decades, I have expierence with engines, tuning rebuilding etc.. however I have an issue that just will not change in any way.

Background info: I'm just the mechanic that maintains this machine, its a family members and has always ran like a top...engine is OEM, new ngk plugs with propper gap, new valve cover gasket, clutch pack and oil(this year). She ran great up until last year when I noticed it had a slightly high idle that could not be adjusted out
(oem idle is recomended at 1200, prior to last year I had it running smoothly at 1100rpm, just sounded better and still ran great). I told him that the "pilot circuit" seems to be a little clogged because thats what it idles off of when throttle plate is closed.So he dropped it off last winter, and
I did a full carb rebuild, before I was done, he contacted me and aske if I would want to paint it, I said sure. So after tckling the carbs(already had them laid out on the bench) I pulled the engine off set it aside and stripped everything off the frame, painted it and re assembledharness coils engine etc..got the tank and side panels painted, set them aside. Installed carb rack and started to adjust the "pilot air mixture"and planned on moving to the vacume guage sync after,

however here is the issue:
Carbs have new OEM: