Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody! I'm new to motorcycling and I've got just a few questions. My first question is this: Does engine displacement affect bikes the same between Sports bikes and other bikes? e.g. is a ninja 250 going to have the same as a honda rebel 250 or other similar bike? Keep in mind I know next to nothing about motorcycles. My second question is in regards to helmets. I know that at some point the price of helmets doesn't affect safety, but merely for looks. I would like to know at what price is my safety not compromised? I don't want to spend an extra couple hundred bucks just to look cool.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
A 250 ninja and a 250 rebel are two different monsters. Sport bikes are generally faster than cruisers. Have you taken the basic riders course? This is my suggestion to all new riders. Helmets. You want to look for d.o.t stickers at the very minimum. Price really dont matter but the proper fit does. Some have more gizmos and gadgets, some have different designs but they all protect your melon as long as they have the dot sticker. Theres another sticker that one can look for but for the life of me I cant remember the name.

·
Aging & Worn
4,517 Posts
A 250 ninja and a 250 rebel are two different monsters............Sport bikes are generally faster than cruisers. You want to look for d.o.t stickers at the very minimum. Price really dont matter but the proper fit does. Some have more gizmos and gadgets, some have different designs but they all protect your melon as long as they have the dot sticker. Theres another sticker that one can look for but for the life of me I cant remember the name.
I'll offer some modification to what she said, if I may:

1. In terms of engines and performance, it's just like cars, in the sense
that, just because they have the same engine type/size, it doesn't
mean that they all perform the same. There is even a "lemon" factor