Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Who else here rides an electric: bike, scooter, or motorcycle?

I started riding an electric bike about 10 years ago. It was an old Currie Ezip that I modded with different drive gear, lower gearing, and then added 12V to the 24V battery. I eventually fried the controller (and I think the motor, too) and ended up getting rid of it and going single-speed/fixie for a few years. I then bought an electric scooter (seated) and ran that a couple of years until maintaining it took more than the riding it. I then bought an Izip for cheap ($150) and a cheap 36V, 10A Li-Ion battery and an eBay controller and have been riding that for about a year. I tried commuting to work but did not feel safe riding on main roads. So I looked into electric motorcycles and decided to get my motorcycle endorsement. I took an MSF class and got my endorsement last month.

I also bought a used Zero S ZF11.4 and have been commuting to work with it a couple times a week. I think it is an excellent starter bike that I can also grow into. I've been experimenting with the Custom settings and figuring out how to charge it. It would be cool to find others and compare notes.

BC

·
American Legion Rider
26,016 Posts
I don't but pretty sure there are couple others here that do. I think this is a trend that will take off soon. But when you say, learning how to charge it, does that mean you have never charged it until just recently? If so, how many miles have you gone on whatever charge it had? I'm curious because range is the downside I see in these. Speed darn sure isn't and I can se that as the hook that draws more in to this type of motorcycling. Do you have 3 phase charging capability or staying with 120v?

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·