Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to purchase my first motorcycle after taking the course in the next year and I need to know where to start my research. The majority of use will be in town but I also kayak and like to scout out spots so it would have to be able to handle dirt and rocky terrain.

I started a thread on another forum and got some excellent responses but now I can't access it and can't even get logged back into that forum (wasn't this website) so I have to start from scratch.

I am not huge into looks but I would like to get as far away as possible from the dirt bike look. I saw a Kawasaki KLR and that is probably my limit on looking like a dirt bike. Some other bikes I have noticed are the Suzuki V-Storm 650, Honda NX700X, Honda CB500x, Yamaha FZ1 and Kawasaki Ninja.

I will not be making long trips or ever hauling a passenger. I have no experience. I'm 27 years old, 6' tall, 115 lbs, very fit and have long legs. Most likely I will buy used from a dealer, I doubt I will ever have enough money on hand to buy from another person. With that in mind I won't be getting an expensive bike, I would say nothing over $5k used.

I'm not sure what other information would be useful. Thanks for any help!

·
Registered
886 Posts