Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 64 Posts

·
Registered
2,336 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, this is maybe a bit off topic, but l am starting to dip my toes into a little bit of machining and fabrication at work, and suddenly l have all kinds of great ideas popping into my head from out of nowhere. It's actually very cool! I know that these things exist, because l saw a youtube video for them...does anyone know who makes this drill bit that can drill a square hole in steel, something like a mortiser bit? While we are at it, please share if you know of any cool tools that do really trick stuff :)

C

·
0 Posts
Not sure if this will help you or not but here is a video on Youtube.

Here is where you can purchase the drill bit.

You have to forgive me, I am not a mechanic or fabricator. So this info may be useless. :)

·
Registered
2,336 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the info guys. I am going to check this out.

Eye, after doing some more looking l found aa rotary broach made by Slater...have you ever used such a machine? It looks like you need a lathe as well.

·
American Legion Rider
18,577 Posts
I would think Plasma cutter. Depending on thickness.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
Plasma cutters are neat. I had a friend of mine cut a car in half with one. That will teach the person to only pay for half the work........

·
Gone.
17,873 Posts
Not sure if this will help you or not but here is a video on Youtube.
That's another form of rotary broach, but I've never seen it done quite like that. Thanks for posting. Interesting, but it looks a little complicated and somewhat limited.

Here is where you can purchase the drill bit.
Those are tool bits, like for a lathe. I do wonder how much the above tools would be though.