Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy! I started riding about a year ago, took the MSF course and loved it, and went right out and bought myself the prettiest (used) motorcycle (Yamaha V-Star 650) at the dealership. I spent the next year trying really really hard to love riding but something was off. I guess it must have been the bike because last week I rode my boyfriend's Honda Magna 750 and I was like WOW. I LOVE this...this bike is the best thing EVER!

Now I'm starting to feel like a tool for not doing much research on the V-Star and just buying it on a whim. The V-Star feels like a lot of "work" to ride, while the Magna is just so smooth and fun. I guess I'll end up selling the V-Star and probably buying my boyfriend's bike. I guess I'm not the first noobie that's bought the wrong bike out of the gate.

Any reason I should try to like the V-star a little more before I ditch it? I'd love to hear y'all's opinions.

Thanks!

·
American Legion Rider
20,026 Posts
One thing that can make a bike feel real sluggish is low tire air pressure. If the bike doesn't have OEM tires and you are following the manual for pressure, you may be under inflated. My bike calls for max of 40 on the rear but I don't have OEM tires. I had to go up to 44 before it road correctly. Just a thought for ya.

·
Charlie Tango Xray
763 Posts
Sounds like you've already made the decision yourself. If the shoe doesn't fit, why drag it out any longer? Life is too short to wear bad fitting shoes.;)
If you don't get up in the morning wishing you could go for a ride, IMO you have the wrong bike. What is it about the Magna that you like better? How it fits? Sportier? (A Magna is a sportier cruiser). More fun to ride? I recently changed up my riding style with a new bike and I couldn't be happier.

·
American Legion Rider
20,026 Posts