Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
943 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started riding 50 years ago, at age 15 with a Honda 50. At 17, I traded the 50 for a 305 Superhawk that I rode until I left home at 24. At 33 I bought a Harley FLH that I rode until I changed jobs at 38 and couldn't afford to keep it. This past summer, at age 65 and retired, I picked up a 1962 Honda 50 for a song to restore and shortly after picked up a 1983 Honda 750 to ride. I find the Honda 750 sits rather high and has a higher centre of gravity than my Harley did - not exactly my preference - so yesterday I tried a Harley FXDL and I REALLY liked the balance and feel of the bike plus the fact that it sits low enough that I can have both feet on the ground at the same time. But I live on a pension and the Harley is EXPENSIVE!

I live out in the country with 4 miles of gravel road to the pavement and in a part of the country that is often cold and snowy. I get my mail 10 miles away and drive 20 miles for groceries and 40 miles to the city for special purchases, doctor's appointment, the pharmacy, and so forth.

I AM 65 and got thinking that a trike might be a better investment for me. I could ride a trike more easily into my senior years, a trike would take the gravel roads better, and a trike would afford me a much longer riding season. Wearing a snowmobile suit, a trike would even handle slippery roads to some degree. A trike offers the cargo space to be able to fetch groceries or other bulky/heavy items that a bike wont. I am also quite handy and experienced at building, restoring, and repairing mechanical stuff so I could build my own trike. (Commercially made trikes are also EXPENSIVE!)

Being on a limited income, purchase price, operating & maintenance cost, and insurance costs are all important. Making the right decision is VERY important to me!!!