Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 80 Posts

·
Registered
2021 CanAm Spyder RT
3,984 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I was an MSF Instructor in the 1990's in Milwaukee, there were waiting lists for most models of Harley Davidson's at local dealers, and pricing was significantly above MSRP. I had students that were already talking about which HD they planned to buy and at that point many had never even sat on, let alone ridden a motorcycle. As a long time fan of Japanese motorcycles, many of the students viewed me with genuine confusion. They saw me as an experienced rider that would prepare them for two wheeled riding, and yet I didn't share the worship of HD as most of them did. Of course Milwaukee is a special place for HD, but this Harley idolatry seemed to be nationwide in those days.

Now we have Indian, and other companies making cruisers that are, in my opinion every bit as good or better functionally than HD, and obviously the days of waiting lists and ridiculous marked upped pricing has long passed, but based on what I see on the road, HD is still an overwhelming choice for American riders. I just wonder why. I suspect that for many, the image of HD has kept them from even considering any other brand. Maybe its the social aspect of joining group rides sponsored by HD dealers and other organizations. But on one Facebook page that I participate in, for riders of a particular state, a daily list of problems is voiced, with solutions sought, whereas the number of times someone poses a problem with a Japanese bike, even when quite old, is minimal in comparison. But each to their own. Just interesting in my view.

·
Registered
3,835 Posts