Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So for those who haven’t read my introduction, I’m brand new to riding, bought a brand new 650. Well I just low sided a brand new 650. Just a dumb rookie mistake and I’m so disappointed in myself. I Didn’t look into the curve and didn’t correct myself, I didn’t slow down enough, I got nervous tried to slow down and decided to hit the grass...hit a bump I couldn’t see wasn’t standing on the pegs bike came out from under me and I hit pavement. I’m glad I got dropping the bike out of the way but I’m upset it was such a dumb rookie mistake. I was in my gear but that was pretty upsetting. To top it off, I think I bent the handlebars...uuugh...idk what to do...I have a MSC tonight, haha. Go figure...the bike has a dent in the gas tank, bent handlebars and scrapes...And all I say is it’s all my fault.

·
Registered
6 Posts
GreyRider, sorry to hear of your mishap. Almost everyone does something that they wish they could get a "do over" and make it right. No injury, except to ego. The scars on the bike can be repaired. Or, the damage can be liver with and act as a reminder. Errors happen quickly and generally without warning. It sounds as though you have analyzed what happened and got it figured out. I'm glad you weren't hurt.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thank you, man. I’m just angry with myself. I was close to home and was riding with more feeling than thought. I wasn’t excessively speeding, in fact it was a 30MPH curve on a 45MPH road and I was doing maybe 40MPH. I overestimated myself and my practice hasn’t been ingrained into me yet. I’m definitely not one with the bike. I realized I was coming in over my skill limit decided to bail the turn and fixated. I really set myself up to crash...poor judgement...ugh, well I’m off to my safety course with a tiny bit of road rash hope the instructors don’t notice and make me feel a fool, lol.

·