Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I've been riding my 2013 Kymco Agility 50 for almost 3 years now without a problem, but last week I took it in for maintenance at a different dealer(a legit Kymco factory dealer.) and had gear oil changed, spark plug and air filter replaced and valves checked.

I went to pick it up the next day and immediately upon starting the bike I knew it sounded wrong, and like an idiot I left without saying anything because I was late for a meeting and figured that it was fine. I got the bike up to 30MPH however and it makes a really loud metallic banging noise; frankly the bike sounds like a TaoTao or an old lawnmower.
Later on I notice a piece sitting in the trunk of the moped, and upon inspection I determine that it's a screw mount broken off the body of the bike!

What do you guys think they did wrong? How should I handle this? I've called the dealer multiple times without an answer or call back.

I was going to post videos with the sound, but I can't until I have 15 posts unfortunately.

·
Registered
781 Posts
Unfortunately, I think your goose is cooked. Something should have been said AT THE DEALERSHIP. You left for your appointment.

Seems to me like you have two options. 1. Take it back to the dealer and hope they make it right. 2. Take it to another dealer, document anything that might be wrong, then go back to the original dealer with proper paperwork.

Bottom line is, the dealer has no idea if they did the damage, or you did it while riding. Good luck.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Unfortunately, I think your goose is cooked. Something should have been said AT THE DEALERSHIP. You left for your appointment.

Seems to me like you have two options. 1. Take it back to the dealer and hope they make it right. 2. Take it to another dealer, document anything that might be wrong, then go back to the original dealer with proper paperwork.