Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am new to riding and am looking to purchase my first bike, the 2020 Royal Enfield Himalayan. I got some numbers this morning from the dealer, and though I expected additional fees for registration and title and such, I was shocked when the $4749 listed priced quickly jumped to $6732, nearly a 2 grand difference and about 29% of the OTD price. I know for a fact this is outrageous, especially for a $5000 bike that will be replaced in June/July by RE's new Himalayan, and most of it seems to be "freight and assembly fees" which after a little research seems like an arbitrary price that is totally up to the dealer. I'm totally willing to shop around and take my business elsewhere, but this is the only dealer in So Cal with the bike in stock AND (forgive me for sounding prissy) in the color I want.

My question is, what fees would be reasonable and where should I start with this guy? Is $5200 (less than %15 the listed price) a good introductory offer or am i better off telling him to shove it and waiting for the new line to come out?

·
SUPER MODERATOR
8,943 Posts
Google the 2020 Himalayan and then peruse 'Cycle Trader' and compare prices, but only 'OUT THE DOOR' prices because that is what you will be paying anyway in the end. Lots of Dealers 'Low ball' internet prices to get ones attention and then stack on extra profit for them.

Being in San Diego, you will pay much higher prices but you may find a Dealer that will quote you a good OTD price and they could be far away or out of state, then it would be up to you to decide if it's worth it.

I once traveled 750 miles one way, in 2016, to save over $2,000 on a bike I wanted. I drove in and spent the night in a nice motel, and brought the bike back the next morning in the back of my Ford F150 Pickup.

Welcome to the forum!

Sam:)

·
Registered
775 Posts