Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys!!

Newbie here, just bought my first bike roughly a month ago. LOVE IT SO MUCH. It's a 2006 ZX6R (ZX636) with roughly 22K miles. It's got some scuffs and stuff, but it adds to its charm.

Anyway, I am having one issue that makes me super uncomfortable: the cluster/dashboard (not sure what to call it - but literally the entire "THING" where the speedometer and turn signal light and stuff are) keeps switching on and off WHILE I'm riding!! Now, I need to make clear that the motorcycle still works totally fine - brakes, throttle, turn signals, they all still work when the cluster goes off. However, it's just the weirdest thing ever.

You know when you put your key in the ignition and turn it to on, and you see your cluster like "start up" ? Yea, that's what keeps happening while riding. I opened up my wind shield area, and just saw that the cluster is connected via one big black thick wire. I wiggled it, and nothing happened (everything stayed on).

Please advise if you have any insight!! THANK YOU <3:sad:

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Took a look at the battery, all terminals/connections seem to be intact. Opened the windshield area again and saw that the big black wire is pretty large and un-detachable. Any advice would be appreciated!

·
MOD / Rider / Mechanic
1,521 Posts
Usually on those dashes with those sx it is a problem very close to that item, and is loosing connection inside the plug. So you will need to do a key on test (sometimes means the bike must be running) playing with that plug to see what is shaken and baken there.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Usually on those dashes with those sx it is a problem very close to that item, and is loosing connection inside the plug. So you will need to do a key on test (sometimes means the bike must be running) playing with that plug to see what is shaken and baken there.