Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 1975 Honda Cb360T, and I am atttempting to replace the seals for the front forks because they are leaking. Im new at this stuff, so excuse my terms that I use, because I know they are probobly wrong. I took off the bolts that hold the springs down, and I also took everything loose from the forks. I have the front end jacked up. Should the forks separate at this time, or is there something still holding them together?

·
Premium Member
14,680 Posts
See here, hope this helps

And changing the oil since this will be done too.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I believe the first video answers my question and I should be able to figure it out. I already changed the oil, it hardly had any oil in it. Thats why I didn't notice the leak, but when I changed it, I had oil coming out. Of course now, I will need to change the oil again.

Thanks.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
On the very first video, :46 seconds. He calls it a rebound adjustment screw. Does this come out? I am trying it with mine, there is an allen screw, but it doesnt come out. Then at 3:10 he gets the seal out, I have tried that, but I didn't do it too hard because I don't have that bottom screw out, so I didnt want to break anything.....

Any advice?

·
Registered
9 Posts
I did the fork seals on my '89 XT350 last summer and was having a similar issue. I can't recall if the XT350 is inverted or not but I was having a problem with getting the seal out of my forks as well. I tried to pull the seal out like he did at 3:10 and no matter how much I pulled it wouldn't pop out..