Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I have a 2004 Honda Nighthawk. It's my first time changing my own oil and I wasn't able to get the bolt to come off. I was using Stanley 91-929 3/8-Inch Drive Pear Head Quick Release Ratchet and Stanley 95-442 10-Piece 3/8-Inch Drive Standard Socket Set, Metric. Should I get better tools? Or am I maybe making a rookie mistake?

·
Veteran Member
3,275 Posts
Maybe a dumb question, but you're turning it the right way? Since the bolt is upside down sometimes people make the mistake of trying to turn it the wrong way.

·
Visionary
4,614 Posts
Think about looking up from underneath. It's still a right handed, lefty loosely bolt, but it's upside down.
If your not sure how to visualize it, take a spare nut and bolt, turn it upside down, hold the nut, and try unscrewing the bolt downward out of the nut.
Either that or it's just really tight, once your sure which way it goes try pulling harder on the wrench.

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
It turns counter-clockwise to loosen. Which model Nighthawk is it?

I prefer to use an end wrench in hard to reach places with stubborn bolts if possible. The torque stays in line with the bolt head and hopefully doesn't cam off of the bolt, rounding the edges.

·
ZAMM Fanatic
2,730 Posts
Having a positive Impact on too-tight fasteners...

Instead of rounding the head off (with Vice-Grips,) take your bike down to a local repair shop and have them put an (air) impact wrench on it for a second or two to break it loose. Then snug it back, ride home, and change your oil.

The mechanics of an impact wrench will loosen bolts that a 36" cheater bar sometimes will not, without damage. It's like a series of little hammer blows. Each one won't strip the head off the fastener, but the rapid-fire sequence of them causes it to turn.

Examine the threads on your drain bolt/nut, and replace it if they're damaged from being overtightened. Ditto if the head is damaged.