Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
2%er
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I was wondering if anyone can help me out with syncing my carbs? I'm pretty new to all this and slowly learning how to fix things, but for the sync, I don't really know what I'm doing. So I'm just trying to follow my clymers book and guides online and it seems like I've made everything worse. I apologise this is pretty wordy, just trying to be thorough as I don't have the experience to know what info to include or not.

So it's a 1986 Suzuki intruder 750, with pod filters and some sort of custom exhaust that I don't know what it is. I assume it had been rejetted from the previous owner as it had open filters when I got it and it ran okay. Not sure how to check for custom jets or whatever. It ran fine for a while (despite some other non-related problems) and then started stalling in 3rd gear. Checked the plugs and the back was fine but the front was sooty black, so rich I think. So I replaced that plug and gapped the same as the back one.

First I tried to set the idle to 1000rpm by comparing it by ear to a youtube video, seemed to work okay, but obviously not perfect. I ordered a tach to actually do the idle properly but it won't be here for a month.

Then I made a sync tool with 2 bottles and some water (I can't post links but if you put "bottle carb sync tool" in google images there's pics of it there) and hooked it up to the vacuum ports (made little brass adapters with o-rings on them) started the bike and right of the bat, one side raised the water level like crazy so I shut it off and fiddled with the idle sync a bit until it wasn't crazy one way or the other. Then I would get the water synced into the middle which was like super difficult, it was a matter of turning it like half a millimetre to get it just right.