Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im 15 and I have always been interested in motorcycles. I have had some prior experience on a motorcycle. I do understand that motorcycles are more dangerous than a car would be, but also if i was cautious, alot of good could come out of owning a bike. So would it be a good idea for a 16 y/o to get a bike for their first vehicle?

·
Registered
388 Posts
Yes but you have to respect the danger. My daughter got her first bike when she was 15 a Virago 250 then at 16 stepped up to a Sportster, she's 17 now and rides a Victory Vegas. Do you have an experienced rider you can ride with?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Umm unfortunately no I don't, but I do have experienced grandparents that are just a phone call away but I wouldn't ever be able actually ride with them.

·
Registered
1,140 Posts
Sure your 1st vehicle can be a bike why not? Where do you live & what type of riding will you do? City or country riding? Is winter a problem?

Please start with a SMALL bike, 300cc or less, and preferably a used bike to learn on. Get a bigger/newer bike once you have some miles under your belt :) and by all means sign up for a local BRC (basic riders course). They supply the bike, so it is also a great way to see how you like & fit on the bikes in their course.

·
Registered
1,003 Posts