Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I have completed my MSF training, and am looking into buying my first bike. Last week, I found a used 2013 or 2012 (I forgot:confused:) CBR250R at the Honda dealer with 3890 miles on it for $3000. They told me they had done all the necessary maintenance when it was received, and that they got it on a trade. I would be paying 100% in cash.

for a 2013, KBB says retail should be around $3085 and NADA says $4,200-2,145 with the avg. being $2,825.

My question is does this sound like a good deal?
Would I be paying the 6.25% Texas tax to them or the DMV?
Would it be absurd to ask for $3000 out the door? (if I am supposed to pay the dealer the tax)
Do you think they would negotiate on it like that?
Should I skip the dealer and wait for craigslist?

I am very new to the buying process so any info would be great.

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated! Thanks!

(P.S. I am going to class in a few minutes so I'll talk with you all closer to 8:30)

·
Retired twice: Navy and as a govt contractor
14,354 Posts
I would go for the 3k out the door. All they can do is say no. Not sure about Texas and bikes, but here you can pay it all to the dealer and for a slight fee they will take care of all of it for you.

·
Visionary
4,624 Posts
Well, did you get it for the $3000? How does it ride? Anything exciting happen yet? Post some pics and show us the bike.
Don't leave us hanging here!

Can you tell it's the winter non riding season?
:biggrin:

For the record, it sounds like a good enough deal, and with buying from a dealer you can expect no major surprises or weird issues while your learning to ride it, which is a good thing. Save all that fun stuff for later! 3900 miles is just broken in nicely, good luck with it (if you bought it)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5