Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am somewhat new to sport bikes and trying to learn as i go along. I have my eyes on a Kaw Ninja 250 for a project bike on craigslist but i am unsure to get it so i could use some advice.

It is a pre-gen: 2004, less than 3k miles on it.
Gas tank needs painting

"Part out or drop new engine in it. Transmission may or may not be okay - mechanic wasn't sure" <--- from the ad.
This guy wants $400 for it. It might sound like a good price for the base and do some custom work but i dunno how much all the work is gonna cost or if once it starts up i will have other isssues with it. If i put a $400 engine in it will it perform ok?..
Please give me some advice if i should get this or what to keep in mind.

Thanks,
Mandy

·
Save them all!
4,278 Posts
Hi Mandy,

It sounds like there is a reason the seller is getting rid of it so cheap. Transmission work can be difficult, and usually involves pulling the engine.

If you're buying this as a bike you would like to ride regularly in the near future I would walk away. If this is purely a project bike and you don't mind it sitting in your shop for a while, that's a different story.

·
Registered
37 Posts
That's pretty much what I'm looking for right now, a cheap parts bike to pick at. I got half of a small dirt bike sitting in the back of house, but she's short half a motor and a rear wheel. MORE PARTS!

I'm riding around on my dad's klr, at the moment, when the weather is suitable.

·
Very Famous Person
9,694 Posts
--

When anyone has a used bike, or anything, that's been messed up and needs some major parts repaired, I have to think that if that part was abused, then probably all the parts have had neglect or harsh use.

--

·
Eating GSXRs, Sh***ing CBRs
1,895 Posts
The amount of money that you may have to put into that bike could very possibly be touching the price of just buying a decent running '08+ 250R (New Gen).

·
Registered
30 Posts