Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,

I'm new to MF as of ten minutes ago and I thought this would be a great place to get some insight from some experienced riders.

I'm looking to buy my first road bike the spring/summer and wanted some input. I am interested in a cruiser that will last me a few years. I've always been a big fan of Harleys and the culture, but have never owned one. My father owns a road king, which is a beauty, but a bit to much of an "old man" bike for me. I'm 6'2" so I will need something with a little bit of leg room to ride comfortably. I also have some minor back issues and live in Detroit where the roads look post-apocalyptic, so cushy suspension and seat are a plus. I love the look of the 48 and 883, but from what I hear are not comfortable for taller riders, and the suspension sounds like a nightmare.

I have been riding dirt bikes all of my life and currently ride a 2-stroke 250, so I am quite comfortable with something with a little power, but I'm not sure how well that translates to a heavy cruiser.

I know I need to go to a shop and sit on a few bikes to see what is comfortable, but I wanted some insight on where to start looking.

I am also not 100% set on getting a HD and am open to any other suggestions as well.

Any insight is appreciated. :71baldboy:

·
Gone
23,907 Posts
There are a lot of choices out there. The best idea is to research a few that look interesting to you, and go see how they fit.

·
American Legion Rider
23,543 Posts
You'll be missing out on all the fun if we narrow it down for you. Looking and test riding is fun. Hit up every dealer around. But given you are a experienced dirt bike rider, maybe a dual sport would be the way to transition. Then later move on to a full cruiser or maybe touring bike. But start test riding. Unless you are completely snowed in. I didn't see where you are.

·
Registered
4,168 Posts