Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If I leave my bike out for say 10 hours, it would take a couple of seconds to start, and then would easily die (maybe I can rev it to save it, but haven't tried yet). I can start it up again, and it would run fine. I left it out in the rain once during a big rain storm. aside from that, it wasn't mistreated. I just got it about 3 weeks ago from a dealer. already had to bring it back to them to replace a seal that was leaking oil and wirings for the headlight. This one, I just discovered recently.

I'm new to this. What are common problems associated with this? how can I troubleshoot? can I leave it at the dealer parking lot over night, and show them the problem tomorrow morning?

·
Female Rider
9,324 Posts
I don't know what bike you have but if you have a choke/enrichment are you using it? I have to use it on my bike the 1st time I start it each day. I hope it's that simple. Good Luck!!

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
this morning, after the bike's been left alone for 2 days, I tried starting it up, but the "F1" light was flashing as I was pulling in the clutch to start the bike. It would try to start, but engine would never kick on. I tried turning off the bike, and then turning it back on. This time, the F1 light stayed on (not flashing), and the bike started up in about 2 seconds. When I try to start the bike right after riding it, it would start right up.

What issue might this be? Since it's still within 30 days since purchase from the dealer, I'll take it back later today to have it checked out.

·
Registered
276 Posts
"Since it's still within 30 days since purchase from the dealer, I'll take it back later today to have it checked out."

For sure! Get all problems documented now while under their warranty...in case you have to sue them when the warranty is up but the problems still exist or return.

·
Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter #8 (Edited)