Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm posting this up for a friend, I gathered information that I thought was necessary, but if you need more info I can get it.

Specs on the bike;
2007 100 C.I. Revtech engine
Chain
Air Cooled
5 Speed (unknown tansmission)
Oil currently used; 20-50 (Unknown brand)

Here's the story. We both live in Western Washington. Very rarely does it get above 85 Degrees in the summer. The time he was riding, it was overcast and mid 70's. Got caught in slight traffic. Traffic was moving but at a slow pace. 20 minutes later, he noticed his oil pressure drop from 25 to 5.

He left the bike, grabbed his truck and loaded it up taking it back home (about 30-45 minute duration). When in the garage, he removed the oil cap and he could see the oil was bubbling inside.

Called up Harley, and all they said was the bike got too hot and he was in traffic for too long. Im not an expert mechanic or anything, but I would think that any motorcycle should be able to handle being in traffic for 20 minutes in 75 Degree weather. You guys have any suggestions or has this happened to you?

Thanks

·
3...2...1... V Boost
400 Posts
Sounds like the curse of the air cooled engine. No air passing over the cooling fins = over heated engine. 20 minutes of running with no cooling is pretty long.

·
Registered
4,169 Posts