Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I am fairly new to riding. Got my license in September and my bike in January. My car crapped out on me, so I rely on my motorcycle as my main mode of transportation everywhere (thankfully, everything I need is within a 5 mile radius). I ride a Yamaha V-Star 250.

Unfortunately, I don't know crap as far as mechanical stuff is concerned. Trying to change that, though.

The other day, my bike fell onto its side because I didn't put the kickstand all the way out when parking it. It proved to be too heavy for me to bring it upright on my own and I had to wait on a friend to come over to help me out. My bike stayed on its side for about 45 minutes-1 hour. Once we got it back up, a significant amount of gas leaked out of a couple of tiny holes at the bottom of my exhaust pipe (the holes are too small and perfect-looking to have been something caused by the damage, so I'm assuming they're just a part of the design). Someone asked their dad who rides for some advice and he suggested that I should wait for the gas to evaporate before doing anything. I refilled the tank with more gas later that day, but did not bother to try turning the bike on because I had nowhere to be.

Fast-forward 24 hours. I tried to start the engine but to no avail. It tries to start but the engine just can't seem to turn over. There is a faint gasoline smell every time I try, too. Battery seems fine though, because the lights work ok. I am under the assumption that since my bike was on its side for so long, the shocks got soaked in gasoline. I've read that they simply just need to be cleaned, if that's the case. That's good and a relatively-easy fix and all, but I guess I'm just doubtful because my experience with vehicle maintenance/troubleshooting is very, very small. I also don't have the financial means to really ask any in-town professionals for their two-cents on the matter. That's why I am asking here.